Summery Taste in Winter

During wintertime, our frequency of baking is 3x more productive than in other seasons – what we do basically eat, play, eat, play, watch, eat, play, watch, all day long (I became more loose with their screen time, I let them watch 110 minutes full-length movie so I could do other errands peacefully while they’re watching Cars or Winnie The Pooh or whatever on the PBS kids. I know, I know…. Still trying to not exceed 3 hours screen time tho‘). So in between of those activities, I put baking time 2-3 times a week. Baking is one of me and the kids favorite activities. During baking, Azka and Khalif cooperatively standing next to me in the kitchen; while Khalif contently happy of doing his mixing job, Azka wants higher task – which is measuring any ingredients that we use, cracking the eggs, pouring the milk, scooping the batter into the tins or pans or plates – and after he’s doing all this job, he demands to lick all the spoons and bowls that has been used; His face is utterly cute while licking it religiously.

IMG_2292

So last week we decided to make Blueberry Summer Cake (which is ironic, because when we made it the snow storm is coming). It is one of the simple cake ever – I’ve made variety of quick breads and cake with blueberry before: banana-blueberry muffins, blueberry muffins, blueberry cheesecake, blueberry crumb cake, blueberry scones, blueberry pancake – basically all that I can do with banana, I did the same with frozen blueberry. It is so versatile that I always stock them in the freezer – oh, I use it for green smoothies too. I love this superfood – but I have to make sure to always buy the organic one or from the farmers market if I buy it fresh because the amount of pesticide in blueberry is the worst among other fruits.

IMG_2286

So here is the recipe, originally from here which the person adapted from Martha Stewart:

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsps unsalted butter (softened)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar (packed)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract ( I don’t use: I avoid to use it lately because of the alcohol in it)
  • 1/2 cup milk ( I used soy)
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 2 tbsps sanding sugar (optional – I don’t use, instead I give powdered sugar by the end as garnish)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°. Generously grease a 9-inch round cake pan. Whisk dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. Using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat butter, sugar, and brown sugar until creamy. Add egg and vanilla (if using), mixing well. Add flour mixture in 3 portions, alternating with the milk. Mix just until combined. Transfer batter to prepared pan. Scatter blueberries over the top of the batter and lightly press them into the batter. Sprinkle top with sanding sugar. Bake for 10 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 325°. Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until cake is golden brown and firm. Cool in pan for 15 minutes. Run a knife around the edges of the cake. Transfer cake to wire rack to cool completely. (You’ll need to flip the cake twice so it can cool right side up.)

The cake is just the right amount of sweet, a bit delicate, and just lovely:

IMG_2320Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

