My Dear Acquaintance (A Happy New Year)

IMG_0606

Oh, Hi 2014….! Every beginning of the new year always give me a weird-mixed feelings – at some point I feel so blessed for the all the good things that my family and best friends had and got throughout the year, but at some other stage – I feel so…. Empty. Maybe because by the end of the year we tend to recap what we’ve been through in the last 365 days; As for me, year of 2013 – I don’t have any kind of big achievement or milestones (the previous years there’s always any little celebration of graduation, marriage, pregnancy,  giving birth, etc, etc). Maybe 2013 is not my year – it’s the year for my significant others; for Papa Ara means he published his first scientific paper in a marine science journal, Azka means he attended preschool for the first time, Khalif could walk, say some first words, and now can running and climbing here and there, Dita and Ardha are expecting their first baby (some other friends that had expected their first child for years also happened to be pregnant and gave birth later this year, and it made me very happy to see them being able to be a mother)Ozu got her Master Degree from Bournemouth University, Decha, Eka, Maknyess, got married. But it is also the year that my family had lost some important aspect of their life; Ayah had to retired early from his job, Bunda lost her vocal cords that make her sounds weird while she talks (I hope you will recover soon, Mom), and the big family of Hawadi had lost our beloved grandmothers and uncle: Uci Angah, Uci Bunda, and Om Arie. May peace be upon them in the afterlife.

So with this New Year and new-so-called-resolutions, I wish you this..  A beautiful lyrics and song performed by my favorite female musician:

My dear acquaintance, it’s so good to know you
For strength of your hand
That is loving and giving
And a happy new year
With love overflowing
With joy in our hearts
For the blessed new year

Raise your glass and we’ll have a cheer
For us all who are gathered here
And a happy new year to all that is living
To all that is gentle, kind, and forgiving
Raise your glass and we’ll have a cheer
My dear acquaintance, a happy new year

All of those who are hither and yonder
With love in our hearts
We grow fonder and fonder
Hail to those who we hold so dear
And hail to those who are gathered here

And a happy new year to all that is living
To all that is gentle, young, and forgiving
Raise your glass and we’ll have a cheer
My dear acquaintance, a happy new year
Happy new year

Bismilillahirrahmanirrahim

3 thoughts on “My Dear Acquaintance (A Happy New Year)

Leave a Reply

