The Beautiful Catastrophe

IMG_7625A hundred times have I thought New York is a catastrophe, and fifty times: It is a beautiful catastrophe- Le Corbusier

When you’re a stay at home mother, traveling all by yourself would be considered as a very big privilege. On my last 29th Bday, Papa Ara, Azka and Khalif gave me an unforgettable birthday present: they let me go from home for 3 days and 2 nights for a sweet escape to the Big Apple. Though Ara gave me the permission, it wasn’t an easy process for me and the kids; I mean, away from their mom for this very long time was never happened before, especially for Khalif who is still breastfeeding. So I traveled with a mixed up feeling (do I deserve this? Yes, I deserve. Will the kids gonna be okay? They are gonna be fine, they’re with their papa, etc). Don’t over-analyze, leave all those worriedness behind, otherwise the trip would be a waste. It’s NY after all. Go have some fun…!!

IMG_7861

IMG_8315

“I look out the window and I see the lights and the skyline and the people on the street rushing around looking for action, love, and the world’s greatest chocolate chip cookie, and my heart does a little dance.”  ― Nora EphronHeartburn

East Village is a neighborhood in the borough of Manhattan in New York City, lying east of Greenwich Village, south of Gramercy and Stuyvesant Town, and north of the Lower East Side.

IMG_6446

IMG_7544 IMG_7539 IMG_7533 IMG_7530 IMG_7517 IMG_7521 IMG_7520 IMG_7519 IMG_7514 IMG_7516 IMG_7515 IMG_7504 IMG_7500 IMG_7497

Seeing some community garden in the city make my heart melt…! I just wish Jakarta and Bandung will have more of this – and yes, I’m being optimistic, especially with IDBerkebun movement lately. One of the community garden in the village:

IMG_6620 IMG_6627 IMG_6629 IMG_6630 IMG_6636

Exploring NY without the kids gave the whole difference sensation to me, because I don’t need to worry whether it’s nap time, poop time, changing-diaper duty, kids-friendly place, the long walk or subway ride, etc (not that I’m complaining about that). So this time, I go to the my kind of places without really think about time-constraint or whatsoever – but of course, there’s still budget constraint. So, my idea of exploring NY this time is to do what I love the most: try something cheap, dirty, (and locals). And I have my own local guide, thanks to Dita who’s kind enough to spare her space, time, and effort to accompanying me round about in the city.

IMG_6614With Dita’s bike – I spent 45 minutes nice morning ride around the East Village

IMG_6559Having my first Nasi Kapau at Upi Jaya after 1.5 years. Foodgasm at the most…!

South Street Seaport is a historic area in the New York City borough of Manhattan, located where Fulton Street meets the East River, and adjacent to the Financial District.

IMG_7587 IMG_7596IMG_7580

IMG_7667IMG_7672

IMG_7668 IMG_7611 IMG_7626 IMG_7583

Roosevelt Island is a narrow island in New York City’s East River. It lies between the island of Manhattan to its west and the borough of Queens to its east, and is part of the borough of Manhattan. The most exciting part about visiting this place is we use the tram and got to see spectacular view from above…! And The Franklin D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Park in the island, which is a four-acre memorial to Franklin D. Roosevelt that celebrates the Four Freedoms he articulated in his 1941 State of the Union address: Freedom of speech, Freedom of worship, Freedom from want, and Freedom from fear.

The city seen from the Queensboro Bridge is always the city seen for the first time, in its first wild promise of all the mystery and beauty in the world. F. Scott Fitzgerald

IMG_7734

IMG_7738IMG_7729 IMG_7731 IMG_7742 IMG_7748 IMG_7779 IMG_7780 IMG_7781

Brooklyn. Among many places that I always wanted to go in the city is Brooklyn. And it’s good that it had this Carribean festival going on that day. I was pretty much looking forward to this festival, turned out that it wasn’t really what I expected to be from a carnival -way too much political campaign during the parade. Sigh. But I’m very impressed with Brooklyn; esp around the Grand Army Plaza area: Brooklyn Public Library (too bad it was closed that day, will come back one day to see its magnificent building and collections), the Brooklyn Museum, Botanical Garden, Prospect Park…. Gotta come back there and visited all of it with Papa, Azka and Khalif,,,!

IMG_8041 IMG_8048 IMG_8111 IMG_8112 IMG_8118 IMG_8189 IMG_8196 IMG_8207 IMG_8073 IMG_8161

DUMBO. And also because in Brooklyn there is DUMBO, Down Under Manhattan Bridge Overpass  – a magnificent place to watch sunset and Manhattan Skyline. Unfortunately, that afternoon, the sky was terribly cloudly…I was there by myself – thinking about life (jieeee), and having the best cheap meal with fantastic view. If you don’t want to spend extra money for eating, I really recommend to buy some bagels, Bahn Mi, pizza, tortillas, or even some chinese foods, and bring it to the nearest park or community park in the city. That way, you don’t need to spend extra $5-8 bucks just to pleased your waiter. I always do this while traveling (I hope I don’t have to do this when I’m rich, someday…! Of course I want to try all the good restaurants in the city! ).

IMG_8235 IMG_8246 IMG_8366

IMG_8223

I always have this thing for a carousel, and so curious about Jane’s Carousel ever since I saw this image from last year’s Sandy.

IMG_8279 IMG_8278

IMG_8282 IMG_8367

I always think that in order to enjoying the most of NYC is that you have to be single (or taken/ open relationship but not married), rich, and fabulous. I, of course don’t belong to this demographic citizen. Also, as a mom of two boys, there’s something that bother me so much about the lifestyle of men in this city. I’m not anti-gay, I respect their rights, but still, if it happens to my own kids – I’m not sure I can really accept it. You know what I mean..

Most of my friends in New York are single women or gay men. Sarah Jessica Parker

IMG_8350IMG_8354 IMG_8368

I used to travel alone when I was single, and now I forgot how to do that effectively and efficiently. Now I remember; here is the thing about traveling – you should calculate your timing very well. I don’t like to travel in a rush (though pretty much I always travel in a rush), but let say you only have three days to explore a new place (yet too much things to see and do!), you are not sure whether you come back there again one day or not, you gotta rush yourself, right?

IMG_7818IMG_7933 IMG_8413

IMG_7916

I went to ‘Imagine’ memorial in Strawberry Fields Central Park after sunset (which is stupid) because spent too much time in 5POINTZ, missed the last boat to the Government Island because I was too busy daydreaming and wandering in DUMBO, I didn’t see the last exhibition with free admission in Guggenheim museum, etc… because I didn’t plan my trip effectively. That’s just the downside, appart from it, I had a really great time in New York City and promise myself that I will come back for more; because you will never get enough of this city.

IMG_8327IMG_8329XXXX…!

3 thoughts on “The Beautiful Catastrophe

  1. This story brings me to NYC. I can feel the air. Aaaaaaakkk….
    Thank you so much for the photos, hahaha I laugh at that two-men-pacaran-pinggir-kali-photo. But they’re really gay? Mana tau kakak-adek.😄

    1. Hahha, mereka sempet yang rangkul2an sambir tidur2an mesra gituuuu x))) Kakak-adik ga segitunya laahh, hehe. Tapi asli di NY kayaknya tiap jalan dikit pasti ketemu gay, mau yang macho, mau flamboyan, semuanya gandengan dan peluk2an😀 what a CITY! (Jakarta juga gitu ya?)

      1. Iya, di Jakarta juga gitu, tapi ga kayak frontal gitu juga sih, kayak di mall gitu. Anak gaul mall. Hahaha. Ke New York berenang nyampenya berapa lama ya?😄

Leave a Reply

