My Kind Of Rainbow

The last 4 months, I keep buying the same fruits for the whole family; apples, pears, oranges, and bananas until I realized one day, Geez! how could I eat these fruits with all the same colors (white, except for the oranges of course). I need some colors! (though I always have frozen blueberries and strawberries to make smoothies or muffins for the kids). So with some impulsive buying, the past 2 weeks I started to fill in our fridge with plenty colors of berries, grapes, and kiwi.

But my oh my, do I really hate the fact that most of these beautiful fruits are either very high in pesticide or imported from far far away land? The organic version of these fruits aren’t always available all year round in the grocery store, and to buy from the local farmers’ market I have to wait until summertime or fall… So I’m sorry that the last three weeks I couldn’t resist to fill my fridge with these imported green/black/red grapes (with 34 pesticides residues), blueberries (the fresh ones, not frozen with SHOCKINGLY 52 pesticides residues), strawberries (which always be in the DIRTY dozen list, sadly 54 pesticides) – and imported kiwi, avocado, bananas, mango (which are some of the less contaminated fruits from the pesticides). Damn it, you pesticides and carbon print!

If you want to check other fruits or veggies, check thru this link: http://www.whatsonmyfood.org. And whenever possible, always buy the clean fifteen (I’m not sure about the corn, I’ll omit it since it possibly a GMO corn, yikes!).

So, probably I need to work on the list that have the criteria of clean, local and budget-friendly fruits… Meanwhile, I’ll be enjoying these week’s treat of parfaits, pancakes, and muffins before I over consume them all and got brain-damaged!

IMG_2892

IMG_2880

IMG_2898

IMG_2912

Foodart2 IMG_2809

 

Leave a Reply

