Baked Sweet Potato Donut Holes with Chocolate Glaze

Today I had to do my Glucose Tolerance Test –  A one-hour test screens for (but does not diagnose) gestational diabetes mellitus (GDM)

GDM is a form of diabetes that appears only during pregnancy occurs when the body does not produce adequate amounts of insulin (the hormone that lets the body turn blood sugar into energy) to deal with the increased blood sugar of pregnancy. Gestational diabetes usually begins between weeks 24 and 28 of pregnancy – from here.

To do this test I need to consumed a 10 fl.oz (296 ml it is!)  mizone-like-soda drink (which surprisingly tasted good) within 5 minutes and get my blood-test done (in the health center) exactly one hour after I finished the drink. And before I drink that special liquid, my home-visit nurse Karla recommended me not to consume any kind of food (esp. the sweets; juice, etc) within two hours. So it’s kinda made me have this sugar-rush thing after I done the test! (Oh, I passed the test! Alhamdulillah, because Peggy – the midwife- said that so far that day I’m the only one who passed the test, the other pregnant women had to do the next test and have a special diet to reduce the risk of having GDM).

The Drink for Glucose Tolerance Test

So when I get back home, I’m thinking to make a sweet-treat with sweet potato – it’s one of the best food nutritionist always talked about and always in the #1 rank amongst all other 10 best foods-  so I won’t feel very guilty to enjoy my treat😛 And the nutritional facts of this nutritional all-star is just amazing; it’s one of the best vegetables you can eat. They’re loaded with carotenoids, vitamin C, potassium, and fiber.

Microwaved Sweet Potato – Took 9 to 12 Minutes

Then I found this Baked Sweet Potato Donut recipe in Peegaw’s! Such a perfect treats! –> (it’s a donut and it’s baked – not deep-fried + sweet potato!!).

BUT wait….I just realized that I don’t have a donut cutter x(( But it won’t stop me for not making it! I will just make a donut holes, so voila…….

It turns out really good that I ate 9 holes ( 5 at a times, 4 later in the midnight) and Ara ate 7 holes in a row, and Azka….2 (or 3?!).

Snack for Azka, without too much glaze and served with blueberry smoothies

The Sweet Potato Donut recipe and step by step how-to can be found in Peegaw’s link. I will just share the recipe for chocolate glaze (instead of Caramel- Cinnamon Glaze that Peegaw did)

Chocolate Donut Glaze (courtesy of Alton Brown, 2004)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cupunsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup whole milk, warmed
  • 1 tablespoon light corn syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Directions

Combine butter, milk, corn syrup, and vanilla in medium saucepan and heat over medium heat until butter is melted. Decrease the heat to low, add the chocolate, and whisk until melted. Turn off heat, add the confectioners’ sugar, and whisk until smooth. Place the mixture over a bowl of warm water and dip the doughnuts immediately. Allow glaze to set for 30 minutes before serving.

As always, I didn’t make it pretty in terms of making a beautiful presentation out of it, but it tasted good (enough) for us🙂

Leave a Reply

