AirBnb

Who doesn’t like traveling? In the era of cheap air flights to many interesting cities in the world, advance online booking that can enable you to get as low as $1 ticket from Boston to New York, cheap and comfortable bed and breakfast, what else are you waiting for?

I grew up in a travel-enthusiast family. My mother is an avid traveler, I can’t track how many cities and countries that she already explored. From her, I also learn to be survive to stay and sleep in anywhere: from cheapo hostels, a mosque,  airport to five stars hotel. When I was single and do traveling, I always chose an inexpensive place to stay, I’m not very picky..as long as the place have a clean bed room and bath room, I will take the place. Because usually, I’m not spending lot of time in the hotel/hostel,so I won’t pay a lot for that.

It’s different story now after I have Azka. I gotta think of his convenience, of course! It’s number one. And when I traveled with Ara’s parents, their convenient also my main consideration to choose place to stay. I googled several times (months by months) to search a good hotel with a good price. Most of them offers average of $250- 300 per night (in Boston, NYC and Washington DC). That’s crazy I thought. I know, Bapak and Mamah would have no problem to pay the fare, but I felt that was just TOO much.. After browsing here and there, I found AirBnb!! It’s Air Bed and Breakfast. We stay at local people apartment, isn’t perfect? I always think that better traveling is to be as close with the locals.

The pros: We can get more space, do the laundry (if needed), do the cooking, shop for groceries, cheaper price, talk with many travelers or the host (ask for their recommendations of locals treat).

The cons: Some property isn’t private, meaning that the host still stay at the Apt, this may not feel comfortable for most of us (especially if the house/apt isn’t really big).

I still think that this is a good option for staying while traveling, just make sure that the host is a good person and the location is convenient (near the subway, groceries, not loud, safe neighborhood, near point of interests, etc): you can always read the review from previous travelers.

These are some pictures from the place we stayed:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy traveling!🙂

“Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.” – Cesare Pavese

Leave a Reply

